Current Tennessee Handgun Permits
Tennessee handgun carry permit holders are currently allowed to carry a firearm openly or concealed. Applicants must complete an approved handgun safety course within one (1) year of the date of application including classroom and firing range hours. Applicants must also pass a background check and pay a $100.00 fee. There are some exceptions for prior military and law enforcement applicants.
Changes Beginning January 1, 2020.
The current type of handgun carry permit under Tenn. Code Ann. §39-17-1351 does not change but will be renamed the “Enhanced Handgun Carry Permit.” Current permit holders will not be required to make any changes to their permit.
A new “Concealed Handgun Carry Permit” will be available beginning January 1, 2020 under Tenn. Code Ann. §39-17-1366. This permit requires the same background check as the enhanced permit. It also requires a 90 minute training course but no firing range hours. The permit fee is $35.00. There is no “open carry” option with this permit.
Is Concealed Carry A Good Option?
It is good that Tennessee will offer permit options. However, concealed carry only permits are limiting and many applicants may benefit from the firing range training. Whichever option you choose just make certain you are properly trained in firearm use for your own safety and the safety of others.