Family Law

 :: Adoption
 :: Adoption and Paternity Issues
 :: Alimony and Spousal Support

 :: Annulments
 :: Business Ownership and Divorce
 :: Child Custody Laws
 :: Child Support
 :: Child Support Guidelines

 :: Contested Divorce
 :: Collaborative Divorce
 :: Custody and Visitation
 :: Division of Marital Property
 :: Divorce

 :: Divorce FAQs
 :: Divorce Planning

 :: Family Law FAQs
 :: Fathers' Rights
 :: Grandparents Rights
 :: Grounds for Divorce in Tennessee
 :: High Net Worth Divorce

 :: Legal Separation
 :: Mediation and Collaborative Law
 :: Military Divorce

 :: Parental Relocation
 :: Paternity
 :: Prenup/Postnup
 :: Post-Divorce Modification
 :: Relocation of Children and Visitation
 :: Same Sex Divorce

 :: Types of Child Custody

 :: Uncontested Divorce
 :: Uncontested vs. Contested Divorce
 :: Unpaid Child Support
 :: Why hire a Tennessee Divorce Lawyer?

Criminal Law
 :: College Students
 :: Criminal Law FAQS
 :: Date Rape

 :: Domestic Abuse
 :: Domestic Assault
 :: Domestic Violence
 :: Drug Offenses
 :: Drug Possession
 :: Drug Sales and Distribution
 :: DUI
 :: DUI FAQs
 :: DUI with a Minor
 :: DUI with Drugs
 :: Expungement
 :: Felonies
 :: Illegal Search and Seizure
 :: Jail Alternatives
 :: Internet Crimes
 :: Marijuana Possession
 :: Providing Alcohol to a Minor
 :: Public Intoxication
 :: Repeat DUI Offenders
 :: Sex Offenses

 :: Suspended License

 :: Tennessee DUI Penalties
 :: Theft
 :: Traffic Violations

 :: Types of Drugs
 :: Underage Drinking
 :: Underage DUI
 :: Violation of Probation
 :: White Collar Crimes
 :: Rutherford County

Personal Injury
 :: Auto Accident FAQs
 :: Bicycle Accidents
 :: Birth Injuries
 :: Car Accidents
 :: Commercial Truck Accidents
 :: Construction Accidents
 :: Distracted Driving Accidents
Dog & Animal Bites
 :: Drunk Driving Accidents
 :: Emergency Vehicle Accidents
 :: Falling Objects on Construction
 :: Fatal Accident / Wrongful Death
 :: Motorcycle Accidents
 :: Motor Vehicle Accidents
 :: Pedestrian Accidents
 :: Personal Injury FAQs
 :: Premises Liability
 :: Serious Car Accidents
 :: Slip & Fall
 :: Stages of a Case
 :: Swimming Pool Accidents
 :: Traumatic Brain Injuries in Auto Accidents
 :: Trucking Accidents
 :: Uninsured Motorist Accidents
 :: What Causes Car Accidents?
 :: What is Premises Liability?
 :: Wrong Way Accidents
 :: Wrong Way Collisions




Murfreesboro Criminal Defense Attorney

If you are facing a criminal charge of providing alcohol to a minor, you need trusted legal counsel right away

Tennessee has extremely restrictive laws surrounding alcohol, its sale, and its consumption. Law enforcement often take a zero tolerance stance on any kind of infraction involving alcohol and this includes providing alcohol to a minor. Providing alcohol to a minor is considered at Class A misdemeanor. If convicted, you can lose your license, receive mandatory community service up to 100 hours, and a year of probation. Additionally, you have a mark on your permanent record. When the stakes are this high, you want strong legal representation you can trust. Clients have trusted Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney David L. Scott for more than 20 years. Attorney Scott provides sound legal counsel and highly-skilled representation. At the Law Office of David L. Scott, you find confidence in a brighter future.

What is considered “providing alcohol to a minor?”

If you intended to provide alcohol to a minor, that is enough to be convicted. Actually and directly giving alcohol to a minor is not necessary. This is how many people run into trouble regarding social host liability. If you have underage guests on your property or in your home, they are given unrestricted access to alcohol, and you knew about it, you can face criminal charges.

Additionally, selling alcohol to a minor is also considered “providing alcohol to a minor.” Cracking down on this is actually a huge focus of the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission. The Commission will even use undercover agents to see if a business or individual is doing the required ID check and complying with age restrictions on alcohol purchases. If you are found to be selling alcohol to an underage person, you risk:

·         Fines

·         Probation time

·         Community service

·         Suspension of your Alcoholic Beverage Commission license

·         Being allowed to work at businesses such as convenience stores, bars, and restaurants.

In addition to a charge of “providing alcohol to a minor,” if the individual was also under the age of 18, you risk being charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor. This is due to the fact that being possession of alcohol is deemed to be an act of juvenile delinquency. This charge in and of itself is a Class A misdemeanor. If convicted, you face up to one year and jail and a maximum fine of $2,500.

A conviction for providing alcohol to a minor is serious, if you are facing charges, contact us today

Don’t wait to seek legal help. Providing alcohol to minors is a serious charge and requires strong legal guidance. At the Law Office of David L. Scott, you find dependable criminal representation and a Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney with more than 20 years experience. Contact us today by calling 615-896-7656 or go online to schedule a free case evaluation.




2 Locations to Serve You

722 South Church Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Phone: 615-896-7656

Map and Directions


4322 Harding Pike #417
Nashville, TN 37205

Phone: 615-203-8062

Map and Directions


Based in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, we are pleased to serve clients throughout Middle Tennessee in Murfreesboro, Smyrna, Franklin, Brentwood, Nashville, Woodbury, McMinnville, Manchester, Shelbyville, Lebanon, Mount Juliet and other communities in Rutherford County, Williamson County, Cannon County, Bedford County, Davidson County, Wilson County and Coffee County.


Disclaimer  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy

Lawyer Marketing Services By : Fuel Web Marketing