Family Law

 :: Adoption
 :: Adoption and Paternity Issues
 :: Alimony and Spousal Support

 :: Annulments
 :: Business Ownership and Divorce
 :: Child Custody Laws
 :: Child Support
 :: Child Support Guidelines

 :: Contested Divorce
 :: Collaborative Divorce
 :: Custody and Visitation
 :: Division of Marital Property
 :: Divorce

 :: Divorce FAQs
 :: Divorce Planning

 :: Family Law FAQs
 :: Fathers' Rights
 :: Grandparents Rights
 :: Grounds for Divorce in Tennessee
 :: High Net Worth Divorce

 :: Legal Separation
 :: Mediation and Collaborative Law
 :: Military Divorce

 :: Parental Relocation
 :: Paternity
 :: Prenup/Postnup
 :: Post-Divorce Modification
 :: Relocation of Children and Visitation
 :: Same Sex Divorce

 :: Types of Child Custody

 :: Uncontested Divorce
 :: Uncontested vs. Contested Divorce
 :: Unpaid Child Support
 :: Why hire a Tennessee Divorce Lawyer?


Criminal Law
 :: College Students
 :: Criminal Law FAQS
 :: Date Rape

 :: Domestic Abuse
 :: Domestic Assault
 :: Domestic Violence
 :: Drug Offenses
 :: Drug Possession
 :: Drug Sales and Distribution
 :: DUI
 :: DUI FAQs
 :: DUI with a Minor
 :: DUI with Drugs
 :: Expungement
 :: Felonies
 :: Illegal Search and Seizure
 :: Internet Crimes
 :: Marijuana Possession
 :: Public Intoxication
 :: Repeat DUI Offenders
 :: Sex Offenses

 :: Tennessee DUI Penalties
 :: Theft
 :: Traffic Violations

 :: Types of Drugs
 :: Underage Drinking
 :: Underage DUI
 :: Violation of Probation
 :: White Collar Crimes
 :: Rutherford County


Personal Injury
 :: Auto Accident FAQs
 :: Bicycle Accidents
 :: Birth Injuries
 :: Car Accidents
 :: Commercial Truck Accidents
 :: Construction Accidents
 :: Distracted Driving Accidents
 ::
Dog & Animal Bites
 :: Drunk Driving Accidents
 :: Falling Objects on Construction
 :: Fatal Accident / Wrongful Death
 :: Motorcycle Accidents
 :: Motor Vehicle Accidents
 :: Pedestrian Accidents
 :: Personal Injury FAQs
 :: Premises Liability
 :: Serious Car Accidents
 :: Slip & Fall
 :: Stages of a Case
 :: Swimming Pool Accidents
 :: Traumatic Brain Injuries in Auto Accidents
 :: Trucking Accidents
 :: Uninsured Motorist Accidents
 :: What Causes Car Accidents?
 :: What is Premises Liability?
 :: Wrong Way Accidents
 :: Wrong Way Collisions


   
     

 

 

Tennessee DUI Defense Attorney

A DUI conviction has serious and lasting consequences, get legal representation you can count on.

With notoriously severe penalties, facing a DUI charge in Tennessee can be overwhelming to say the least. The minimum penalties for a DUI are enough cause for concern, but add to that aggravating circumstances such as having a minor in the car with you at the time of the DUI, and you have an extremely serious situation on your hands.

Life as you know it and your future are on the line. Don’t leave anything to chance. Get experienced, trusted legal counsel on your side right away. Murfreesboro DUI defense attorney David L. Scott is here to use his over 20 years of experience to fight all criminal charges you may face. At the Law Office of David L. Scott, our Tennessee DUI lawyer knows what you are up against and are in your corner the whole time.

What are the penalties for a DUI with a Minor in the Car?

For first time DUI offenders, Tennessee has mandatory jail time. If convicted of your first DUI offense, you will spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail. If your BAC was.20 or higher, you will spend a minimum of 7 days in jail. Additionally, you face the following penalties:

·         Up to 11 months and 29 days in jail

·         $350 to $1,500 fine

·         License revocation up to 1 year

·         Alcohol and drug treatment program attendance

For a second DUI, you face:

·         Minimum of 45 days, maximum of 1-year jail time

·         Mandatory fine of $600 to $3,500

·         License revocation for 2 years (restricted license following revocation)

·         Alcohol and drug treatment program attendance

·         Ignition interlock device monitoring

·         Vehicle confiscation

The penalties continue to escalate for third, fourth, and beyond DUI convictions. In addition to how many prior DUI convictions you have faced, there are aggravating circumstances of a DUI that can enhance punishments.

One such aggravating circumstances is if there was a child under 18 years of age in the vehicle at the time of the DUI. Intoxicated driving with a minor in the vehicle is considered child endangerment and severely punished. It may have been your first DUI, but you still face a minimum of 30 days in jail and a minimum fine of $1,000. Your license will also be revoked. If the child is seriously injured, your charge becomes a Class D felony. If the child dies, the charge becomes a Class B felony. The length of your sentence, should you be convicted, varies depending on your criminal history and the extent of injuries sustained.

A DUI charge is serious, a DUI conviction has lasting consequences. Our Tennessee DUI lawyer protects your future

The criminal justice system can be isolating and difficult to navigate. You don’t have to face it alone. Tennessee DUI attorney David Scott has been fighting for clients since 1996, defending those charged with criminal offenses, including driving under the influence. Contact the Law Office of David L. Scott today by calling 615-896-7656 or contact us online to schedule a case evaluation.
 
 
 

 

 

2 Locations to Serve You

722 South Church Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37130

Phone: 615-896-7656

Map and Directions

 

4322 Harding Pike #417
Nashville, TN 37205

Phone: 615-203-8062

Map and Directions


 

Based in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, we are pleased to serve clients throughout Middle Tennessee in Murfreesboro, Smyrna, Franklin, Brentwood, Nashville, Woodbury, McMinnville, Manchester, Shelbyville, Lebanon, Mount Juliet and other communities in Rutherford County, Williamson County, Cannon County, Bedford County, Davidson County, Wilson County and Coffee County.

 
     

Disclaimer  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Policy

Lawyer Marketing Services By : Fuel Web Marketing